Posted by: Xalthorn | September 18, 2007

Open Alpha release

Sometimes, trying to make a game that doesn’t fit in the standard ‘mould’ can be really frustrating.  I’m running an alpha version of Dungeon Escape with a limited number of testers, namely people I trust not to run off with the ideas.

I’m hitting problems though.  On the one hand, there are very few of them and therefore the amount of testing that can be done is small, as is the amount of time they can spend doing such testing.  On the other hand, some are assuming that Dungeon Escape is like every other game out there and keep asking when ‘standard feature x’ will be implemented.

As a result of this, I think I’m going to have to open the testing to a wider audience and see if I can’t recruit more testers.  My biggest fear is always that someone will run off with the ideas and create the game faster than I can, and take any shine away from my release.  However, I’m currently playing the beta version of another PBBG and pretty much all of the testers are making positive contributions.

My plan with Dungeon Escape (on release) is that the full ruleset will be available to anyone and there will also be local play versions using the exact same rules as the online versions.  As such, opening it up to all and sundry is only a time based issue.

Even then, someone would have to put the effort in to actual create their own version.  I guess it’s time to put paranoia to one side, freshen up the site interface to make it more like the final version, and try to recruit testers.

Responses

  1. I’ll beta test 🙂

    As for worrying about people stealing your ideas I am sure some will, it happens all the time. I probably swiped ideas and didn’t even realize it. 🙂

    However, no one will be able to clone your game exactly because no one will have the exact passion or vision of your game that you have. Sure you may see features of your applications showing up on other sites but the heart and soul of the thing is yours and yours alone.

    Good luck!

  2. Hi Aldarian,

    I’d really appreciate that, although at the moment I’m still only in the Alpha stage, you’re welcome to come and have a look and play.

    The Alpha is purely for testing the game logic and overall balance. The site isn’t at all pretty yet, only using a rough layout with minimal graphics, the game is only text, and as such isn’t at all representative of the final version.

    I’m still debating whether to advertise the link openly or invite people to Alpha on a ‘per request’ basis. Mainly because some people may see ‘link to game alpha’, click on it without reading the background , and then disregard it as a pointless and unpolished game.

    I will however, start posts and comments in here about how the game does (should/will) work as there are bound to be things that are blindingly obvious to me but will need briefly explaining to others.

    I hope you don’t mind, but I’ve sent the link to the alpha to your email address.


Leave a Reply

Categories

