Posted by: Xalthorn | October 30, 2007

Delays, distractions, and motivation issues

What with one thing and another, I’ve not progressed the assorted projects at all recently.  Well that’s not strictly true, I’ve made notes and experimented with a few things, but I have nothing to show for it.

I’ve gone back to the drawing board with the map display issue and I think I have a working solution to the ‘fairness’ problem.  I just need to code a mock-up version and see if it functions adequately.

As to the website ‘shell’, I’m working on categorising the different types of content I will need to display so that I can plan out the variables, content and structure templates, and general stylesheet requirements.

It’s the standard doing a huge amount of work to display ‘hello’ or something equally unfair, but unfortunately it’s required and to not do it will cause me huge problems down the line.

What was the quote? Failing to plan is planning to fail, or something like that.  I know that too much planning is counter productive, but I’m implementing so many non standard things this time around I’m beginning to wonder why I never pick small and simple projects.  At least I’d get a few obvious achievements in a smaller timescale.

Leave a Reply

Categories

